- Register new businesses by filing Form REG -1 (Business Registration Application).
- Employee's Illinois Withholding Allowance: IL-W-4.
- Withholding Method = 3.75%.
- Supplemental Rate = Withhold at 3.75%.
Chicago Employer Expense Tax - $2 per month per employee and commission merchant (in excess of 49). As of January 1, 2014 this has been phased out. State Unemployment Insurance (SUI):Register as employer by filing Form UI-1 (Report to Determine Liability)Report quarterly wages and contributions by filing Form UI-3/40 Employer's Contribution and Wage Report) by last day of month following end of quarter.
Wage base is $12,960 for 2016.
Rates range from 0.55% to 7.75% for 2016.
New employers use 0.55% for 2016.
New construction employer should use 4.15% for 2016.
Rates include the 0.550% fund-building factor.
State Disability Insurance:
State Labor Laws:
Minimum Wage - $8.25
Termination Pay - Fired/Quit - next regular payday.
New Hire Reporting:
Employers must report hiring, rehiring, and return reporting to work within 20 days on New Hire Reporting Form to: Illinois New Hire Directory
P.O. Box 19473Springfield, IL 62794-9473312-327-4473217-557-1947 (fax)
Remit Withholding for Child Support to:
Illinois State Disbursement Unit
P.O. Box 5400 Carol Stream, IL 60197-5400877-664-5738
Iowa, Kentucky, Michigan, Wisconsin.
For paycheck calculations, visit the paycheck calculator of PaycheckCity.
These free resources should not be taken as tax or legal advice. Content provided is intended as general information. Tax regulations and laws change and the impact of laws can vary. Consult a tax advisor, CPA or lawyer for guidance on your specific situation.