Looking for Rhode Island state tax information? Here are the latest resources on state tax, unemployment, income tax and more.
Withholding Requirements Register as employer by filing Form BAR (Business Application Registration). Employee Withholding Allowance Certificate:RI-W4
Withholding Method = formula.
Supplemental Rate = Withhold at 5.99%.
Local Taxes None
State Tax Unemployment Insurance Reserve ratio formula Contribution rate Schedule IState has a 2-Tier wage base. Most employers will use $22,000 for 2016. Employers in the highest tax group have a wage base of $23,500 for 2016.Contribution Rates range from 1.69% to 9.79%.
New employers use 2.27% for 2016.
Rates do not include Job Development Assessment of .21%.State Disability InsuranceWage base $66,300 for 2016.
Withholding rate is 1.20% for 2016
State Labor Laws
Termination Pay - Fired/Quit - next regular payday. Minimum wage - $9.60 effective 1/1/16
Employers must report hiring, rehiring, and return to work within 14 days on Form W-4 (or equivalent), Internet or paper list to:Rhode Island New Hire Reporting Directory
P.O. Box 335 Holbrook, MA 02343
Fax: 888-430-6907Report online.
Remit Withholding for Child Support To Bureau of Family SupportDepartment of Human Services
77 Dorance StreetProvidence, RI 02903
For more information, click here.
Reciprocal States None
State Tax Resources Rhode Island Division of Taxation
Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training
These free resources should not be taken as tax or legal advice. Content provided is intended as general information. Tax regulations and laws change and the impact of laws can vary. Consult a tax advisor, CPA or lawyer for guidance on your specific situation.