Trying to keep up with your state’s withholding requirements? Here are the latest resources on Virginia state taxes for 2016.Withholding Requirements:
• Register as an employer by completing form R-1 or online by clicking here.
• Employee's Income Tax Withholding Exemption Certificate: Form VA-4.
Withholding Method = formula.
• Supplemental Rate = Withhold at 5.75% of the total.
Local Taxes: None.
State Unemployment Insurance (SUI): Benefit ratio formula.
Wage base is $8,000 for 2016.
Rates range from 0.1% to 6.27% (includes 0.07% pool cost charge)
New employers use 2.57% (includes 0.07% pool cost charge) in 2016.Foreign contractors doing business in VA use 6.54% in 2016.
State Disability Insurance (SDI): None.
State Labor Laws:
Minimum Wage -The federal minimum wage rate applies – $7.25.
Termination Pay - Fired/Quit - next regular payday.
Employers must report hiring, rehiring, and return to work within 20 days on Virginia New Hire Reporting form to:Virginia New Hire Reporting Center
P.O. Box 3757 Dublin, Oh 43016
To report online click here.
Remit Withholding for Child Support to: Division of Support Enforcement Department of Social Services
P.O. Box 570 Richmond, VA 23218-0570
Phone: 800-468-8894To report online click here.
Reciprocal States: Kentucky, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Washington DC, West Virginia. For paycheck calculations, visit PaycheckCity.
Other helpful links: Virginia Department of Taxation
Virginia Employment Commission
These free resources should not be taken as tax or legal advice. Content provided is intended as general information. Tax regulations and laws change and the impact of laws can vary. Consult a tax advisor, CPA or lawyer for guidance on your specific situation.