Ohio residents must pay local (city and school district), state and federal income tax each paycheck. Curious for a breakdown?
• Register as employer by filing Form UCO-1.
• Employee's Withholding Exemption Certificate: Form IT-4.
• Withholding Method = formula.
• Supplemental Rate = 3.5%.
Local Taxes Ohio City Taxes can be found by clicking here. Ohio School District Taxes can be found by clicking here.
State Unemployment Insurance (SUI): Wage base is $9,000 for 2016.
Rates range from 0.30% to 8.7% for 2016 .
New employers use 2.7% for 2016.
New construction employers use 6.5% for 2016.Click here to check rates.
State Disability Insurance (SDI): Industrial Commission
30 W. Spring St. Columbus, OH 43215-2233614-466-6136
State Labor Laws: Minimum Wage - $8.10 per hour for 2016.
Termination Pay- first of the month for wages earned in the first half of previous month. 15th of the month for wages earned in the last half of the previous month.
Employers must report hiring, rehiring, and return to work within 20 days on Form W-4 (or equivalent) to:
Ohio New Hire Reporting Center
P.O. Box 15309
Columbus, OH 43215-0309
Phone: 888-872-1490 Fax line: 888-872-161
To report online click here.
P.O. Box 182394 Columbus, OH 43218-2394
Reciprocal States Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Pennsylvania, West Virginia.
For paycheck calculation visit the Ohio Paycheck Calculator of PaycheckCity.
Other helpful links: Ohio Department of Taxation. Department of Job and Family Services.
These free resources should not be taken as tax or legal advice. Content provided is intended as general information. Tax regulations and laws change and the impact of laws can vary. Consult a tax advisor, CPA or lawyer for guidance on your specific situation.