Looking for Tennessee state tax information? In this article, you will find the latest resources on state tax, unemployment, income tax and more.
Tennessee Department of Revenue
Department of Labor and Workforce Development
Tennessee Withholding Requirements
- Register as employer by filing Form LB-0441 (Report to Determine Status/Application for Employer Number)
- No Withholding Tax in Tennessee
- Withholding Method = NA
- Supplemental Rate = NA
Tennessee State Unemployment Insurance (SUI):
Reserve ratio formula Contribution rate Table 5 Wage Base is $9,000 for 2015
New employers use 2.70% until June 30, 2 015
New construction employers use 7.0% until June 30, 2015 New manufacturing employers use 2.7% or 5.50% depending on classification until June 30, 2015 New mining employers use 5.0% until June 30, 2015.
Tennessee State Disability Insurance (SDI):
Tennessee State Labor Laws:
Minimum wage - The federal minimum wage rate applies.
Termination Pay - Fired/Quite - Later of the next regular payday or 21 days.
New Hire Reporting:
Employers must report hiring, rehiring, and return to work within 20 days on Form W-4 or TN New Hire Reporting Form to: Tennessee New Hire Operations Center
P.O. Box 17637 Nashville, TN 37217888-715-2280877-505-4761 fax
To report online click here
Remit withholding for child support to
Child Support ServicesDepartment of Human Services
Citizens Plaza Building, 12th Floor 400 Deadrick Street Nashville, TN 37248-7400615-741-1820
To report online click here.
For paycheck calculation visit the Tennessee Paycheck Calculator of PaycheckCity.
Did you enjoy this article? Check out the PaycheckCity insights to stay up-to-date on payroll news!
These free resources should not be taken as tax or legal advice. Content provided is intended as general information. Tax regulations and laws change and the impact of laws can vary. Consult a tax advisor, CPA or lawyer for guidance on your specific situation.