Georgia payroll professionals and residents interested in their state's latest taxes, look no further. Below are the withholding requirements, local taxes, state tax unemployment insurance limits, and much more for the state of Georgia!
Withholding Requirements Register as employer by filing Form DOL-1A (Employer Status Report): Employee's Withholding Allowance Certificate: G4
Withholding Method = formula.
Supplemental Rate = Withhold At: 2% if annual gross < $8,000. 3% if annual gross > $8,000 and $10,000. 4% if annual gross > $10,000 and $12,000. 5% if annual gross > $12,000 and $15,000. 6% if annual gross > $15,000. Local Taxes None.
State Tax Unemployment Insurance Wage base is $9,500 for 2016
New employers use 2.7% for 2016.
Rates include an administrative assessment of 0.08%. State Disability Insurance None. State Labor Laws
Minimum Wage - The federal minimum wage rate applies
Termination Pay - no provision.
Employers must report hiring, rehiring, and return to work within 10 days on Form W-4 (Employee's Withholding Allowance Certificate) to: Georgia New Hire Reporting Program
P.O. Box 90728
Atlanta, GA 30364-0728 (888)-541-0469(404) 525-2985 (888)-541-0521 (Fax)(404) 525-2983 (Fax) Report online here. Remit Withholding for Child Support To Family Support Registry
P.O. Box 1800 Carrollton, GA 30112-1800877-231-8573 For more info and
To report online, visit Georgia's Child Support Commission. Reciprocal States None.
State Tax Resources Georgia Department of Revenue.
Georgia Department of Labor.
These free resources should not be taken as tax or legal advice. Content provided is intended as general information. Tax regulations and laws change and the impact of laws can vary. Consult a tax advisor, CPA or lawyer for guidance on your specific situation.