Working in Missouri? See what withholding taxes look like for your state below.
• Register as an employer by clicking here.
• Employee's Withholding Allowance Certificate - Form MO W-4.
Withholding Method = formula.
• Supplemental Rate = Withhold at 6% or add to regular wages for current or preceding payroll period and withhold on total.
Local Taxes: St. Louis and Kansas City levy local income taxes. To learn more, please click here. State Unemployment Insurance (SUI): Wage Base $13,000 for 2016
Rates range from 0.00% to 9.75% for 2016
New employers use 3.51% for 2016.
New construction employers use 4.362% for 2016.
New mining employers use 3.51% for 2016
Non-profit contribution rate is 1.30% for 2016 State Disability Insurance (SDI): None
State Labor Laws:
Minimum wage - $7.65 effective 1/1/16
Termination Pay – Immediately.
Employers must report hiring, rehiring, and return to work within 20 days on Form MO W-4 (or equivalent) to:
Department of Revenue
P.O. Box 3340
Jefferson City, MO 65105-3340573-751-5752800-585-9234
Division of Child Support Enforcement
Department of Social Services
227 Metro Drive
P.O. Box 1527
Jefferson City, MO 65102-1527800-859-7999
Reciprocal States: None
Other helpful links: Missouri Department of Revenue
Missouri Department of Labor
These free resources should not be taken as tax or legal advice. Content provided is intended as general information. Tax regulations and laws change and the impact of laws can vary. Consult a tax advisor, CPA or lawyer for guidance on your specific situation.