Looking for Hawaii state tax information? We provide the latest resources on state tax, unemployment, income tax and more.
Withholding Requirements Register as an employer by filing Form GEW-TA-RV-3 or register online by clicking here. Employee's Withholding Allowance and Status Certificate HW-4
Withholding Method = formula.
Supplemental Rate = Add to regular wages for current or preceding payroll period, compute tax on total, and subtract tax withheld from regular wages.
Local Taxes None.
State Tax Unemployment Insurance Contribution rate Schedule C.
Wage base is for $42,200 for 2016.
Rates range from 0.2% to 5.6% for 2016
New employers use 2.4% for 2016. Employment and training fund assessment/interest payment assessment is 0.01% for 2016.
State Disability Wage Base is $982.36 and maximum employee withholding is $4.91 for 2016.Rate is 0.50% of wages.
State Labor Laws
Minimum Wage - $7.25 per hour.
Termination Pay - Fired - at once, or next day if conditions prevent immediate payment. Quit - next regular payday or immediately if employee gave one pay period's notice.
Employers must report hiring, rehiring, and return to work within 20 days on Form UC-BP-5(A) (Report of New Hires) to:Kakuhihewa Building 601 Kamokila Blvd., Suite 251 Kapolei, HI 96707
Phone: (808) 692-7029
Fax: (808) 692-7001
Child Support Child Support Enforcement Agency Department of the Attorney General
P.O. Box 1860 Honolulu, HI 96805-1860808-587-3695
To report online, click here.
State Tax Resources Hawaii Department of Taxation.
Hawaii Department of Labor and Industrial Relations.
These free resources should not be taken as tax or legal advice. Content provided is intended as general information. Tax regulations and laws change and the impact of laws can vary. Consult a tax advisor, CPA or lawyer for guidance on your specific situation.