Get all the details on Utah state and local tax here – ranging from unemployment information to withholding requirements.
• Register as employer by filing Form 1 (Status Report).
• Employee's Withholding Allowance Certificate: Federal W-4.
• Withholding Method = formula.
• Supplemental Rate = Add to regular wages, compute tax on total, and subtract tax withheld on regular wages.
Local Taxes: None.
State Unemployment Insurance (SUI): Wage base is $32,200 for 2016. Contribution rates range from 0.2% to 7.2% for 2016.
New employers are assigned a rate based on their respective industry. New out-of-state contractors are assigned the maximum tax rate (7.2%) allowable under state law.
State Disability Insurance (SDI): None
State Labor Laws:
Minimum wage -$7.25.Termination Pay – If fired - 24 hours. If quit - next regular payday.
Electronic reporting is strongly recommended. Utah New Hire Registry
P.O. Box 45247 Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0247
To report online by clicking here.
ORS Child Support Services
P.O. Box 45011 Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0011
To report online, click here.
Reciprocal States: None.
<br / >Other Helpful Links: Utah State Tax Commission. Utah Department of Workforce Services.
For paycheck calculation visit the salary calculator of PaycheckCity.
These free resources should not be taken as tax or legal advice. Content provided is intended as general information. Tax regulations and laws change and the impact of laws can vary. Consult a tax advisor, CPA or lawyer for guidance on your specific situation.