If you're running payroll (or receiving a paycheck) in Tennessee, here are some important state tax facts you need to know.
Tennessee Withholding Requirements
• Register as employer by filing Form LB-0441 (Report to Determine Status/Application for Employer Number).
• No Withholding Tax in Tennessee.
• Withholding Method = NA.
• Supplemental Rate = NA.
Tennessee State Unemployment Insurance (SUI): Wage Base is $9,000 for 2016.
New employers use 2.70% un til June 30, 2016.
New construction employers use 6.5% for fiscal 2016. New manufacturing employers use 5.0% depending on classification for fiscal 2016. New mining employers use 5.0% until June 30, 2016.
Tennessee State Disability Insurance (SDI): None.
Tennessee State Labor Laws:
Minimum wage - The federal minimum wage rate applies. Termination pay - Fired/Quit - Later of the next regular payday or 21 days. Employers must report hiring, rehiring, and return to work within 20 days on Form W-4 or TN New Hire Send reporting form to: Tennessee New Hire Operations Center
P.O. Box 17637 Nashville, TN 37217888-715-2280877-505-4761 fax
To report online click here.
Remit withholding for child support to Child Support ServicesDepartment of Human Services
Citizens Plaza Building, 12th Floor 400 Deadrick Street Nashville, TN 37248-7400615-741-1820
To report online click here. Reciprocal States: None. For paycheck calculations, visit the Salary Paycheck Calculator of PaycheckCity.
These free resources should not be taken as tax or legal advice. Content provided is intended as general information. Tax regulations and laws change and the impact of laws can vary. Consult a tax advisor, CPA or lawyer for guidance on your specific situation.