On the hunt for South Carolina state tax information? Below are all the details for South Carolina’s taxes, including local, state, unemployment, termination pay and more.
Register as an employer by filling out Form SCTC-111. Employee's Withholding Allowance Certificate: Federal W-4.
Withholding Method = formula.
Supplemental Rate = Withhold at 7.0%.
State Unemployment Insurance (SUI):
Benefit ratio formula
Wage Base is $14,000 for 2016
Contribution rates range from 0.06% to 5.46% for 2016
New employers use 1.39% for 2016
Rates include the administrative assessment and interest surcharge.State Disability Insurance (SDI):</h2>None.
State Labor Laws:
Minimum wage - The federal minimum wage rate applies - $7.25.
Termination Pay - If employee is fired, the employer must pay within 48 hours or by next regular payday, provided that is less than 30 days away.New Hire Reporting
Employers must report hiring, rehiring, and return to work within 20 days on Form W-4 (or equivalent) to:
Child Support Enforcement Division
Department of Social Services New Hire Reporting Program
P.O. Box 1469
Columbia, SC 29202-1469
To report online, click here.Remit Withholding for Child Support to:</h2>Child Support Enforcement Division
Department of Social Services
3150 South Harden Street
P.O. Box 1469
Columbia, SC 29202-1469803-737-5870
To report online, click here.
Other Helpful Links:
South Carolina Department of Revenue. Employment Security Commission. For paycheck calculation visit the salary calculator of PaycheckCity.
These free resources should not be taken as tax or legal advice. Content provided is intended as general information. Tax regulations and laws change and the impact of laws can vary. Consult a tax advisor, CPA or lawyer for guidance on your specific situation.