Looking for South Dakota state tax information? In this article, we will provide the latest resources on state tax, unemployment, income tax and more.South Dakota Department of Revenue and RegulationDepartment of Labor
South Dakota Withholding Requirements:
- Register as an employer by clicking here
- No withholding tax in South Dakota
- Withholding Method =NA
- Supplemental Rate =NA
South Dakota Local Taxes:
South Dakota State Unemployment Insurance (SUI):
Reserve ratio formula
Wage base is $15,000 for 2015
Rates range from 0.00% to 9.5%
New employers pay 1.2% for 2015
New construction employers pay 6.00%.Investment fee for experience rated employers ranges from 0 to .53%
South Dakota State Disability Insurance (SDI):
South Dakota State Labor Laws:
Minimum wage - The Federal minimum wage rate applies. Effective January 1, 2015 the minimum wage will be $8.50
Termination Pay - Fired/Quit - next regular payday or when employee returns employer property.
South Dakota New Hire Reporting:
Employers must report hiring, rehiring, and returnto work within 20 days on Form W-4 (or equivalent) to:
New Hire Reporting CenterSD Department of Labor and Regulation
P.O. Box 4700Aberdeen, SD 57402-4700
To report online click here
Remit Withholding for South Dakota Child Support to:South Dakota Department of Social ServicesDivision of Child Support700 Governors Drive, Suite 84Pierre, SD 57501-2291
To report online click here.
South Dakota Reciprocal States:
For a South Dakota paycheck calculation visit PaycheckCity.
These free resources should not be taken as tax or legal advice. Content provided is intended as general information. Tax regulations and laws change and the impact of laws can vary. Consult a tax advisor, CPA or lawyer for guidance on your specific situation.