Did you know California's state minimum wage is $10, and that San Francisco pays separate local payroll taxes? This - and much more about California's state taxes - is listed below.
Register as an employer by filing Form DE 1 or by clicking here. Employee's Withholding Allowance Certificate, located here.
Withholding Method = formula.
Supplemental Rate = 10.2% for stock options bonuses. All other supplemental payments 6.6%.
Locate San Francisco payroll expense tax information by clicking here. Rate is 1.162% of payroll for 2015. Business concerns with less than $2,500 of annual tax liability are exempt from this tax.
State Tax Unemployment Insurance:
Report quarterly wages and contributions by filing Form DE 6 (Report of Wages) by the last day of the month following end of quarter. Reserve ratio formula.
Wage base is $7,000 for 2016.
Rates range from 1.5% to 6.2% for 2016.
Rates do not include Employment Training Fund contribution of 0.10%
Contribution rate Schedule F+ New employers use 3.40% for 2016.
State Disability Insurance:
2016 - 0.9% on $106,742 of employee wages. Max tax is $960.68 for 2016.
State Labor Laws:
Minimum Wage - $10.00 per hour January 1, 2016. Check cities for different minimum wages.
Termination Pay - If fired pay immediately. If employee quits, pay within 72 hours or at once if 72 hours’ notice was given.
New Hire Reporting:
Employment Development Department New Employee Registry
P.O. Box 997016, MIC 96 West Sacramento, CA 95799-7016916-255-0951 Fax 916-319-4400
To file online click here
Remit Withholding for Child Support To:
P.O. Box 419064 Rancho Cordova, CA 95741866-901-3212
To file online, click here.
State Tax Resources:
California Employment Development Department.
California Department of Industrial Relations.
These free resources should not be taken as tax or legal advice. Content provided is intended as general information. Tax regulations and laws change and the impact of laws can vary. Consult a tax advisor, CPA or lawyer for guidance on your specific situation.